Science Databases

Journal Titles Search

General, Multidisciplinary Databases

These databases offer information in many subject areas. All provide sources for the sciences. This is a photo of an apple and orange sliced and the slices put together.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines. This collection includes all titles in the Language & Literature Collection, student-run law reviews and titles across arts and sciences; humanities; social sciences; language, visual, and performing arts; Eastern and Western religion; music; business; finance; and health science.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window The Points of View Reference Center is an interface intended for public, academic, and high school libraries. Points of View is designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of controversial subjects. High school and undergraduate students can use Points of View as a guide to debate, developing arguments, writing position papers, and for development of critical thinking skills. Each Points of View Essay includes a series of questions and additional material to generate further thought. Also included are thousands of supporting articles from the world’s top political and societal publications.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Index to 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, including full-text (PDF) of most since 1997.
Public Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window Contains 570+ full-text, peer reviewed journals in the social sciences, humanities, and life sciences.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.

Biology

Biological Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database provides access to a wide range of biology topics including some of the most popular information resources for users in academic, government and public research environments.
Thieme MedOne Education This link opens in a new window Includes access to the current edition of Gilroy's Atlas of Anatomy and Anatomy: An Essential Textbook
Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy This link opens in a new window Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is now MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy. The MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a presentation tool featuring 2000+ full-color illustrations and clinical images from Gilroy et al.'s Atlas of Anatomy and additional images from Baker et al.'s Head and Neck Anatomy in one cutting-edge platform.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body

Chemistry

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window Immediate full-text access to Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) as well as ACS Central Science, ACS Omega, and C&EN Global Enterprise. For information on how to access all ACS articles and materials please click here to access a PDF with additional information.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window The Materials Science Database is an interdisciplinary resource of full-text content along with expert indexing of global literature in materials science.
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences. In order to access Scifinder-n, you must first create a Scifinder-n username and password using SciFinder-n’s web-based user registration form. See SciFinder-n Registration Guide for more information on registering for your SciFinder-n account.

Environmental Science

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.

Multidisciplinary Sciences

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window AccessMedicine from McGraw-Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine, with essential information accessible anywhere. It provides medical students with a variety of resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships; helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; enables faculty to create, track, and report their students’ progress through a curriculum tool that eases workflow; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
ScienceDirect College Edition This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect College Edition contains ScienceDirect's Health & Life Sciences Journals and Ebooks Collections, Physical Sciences Journals Collection, and Social and Behavioural Sciences Journal Collection.
Springer Journals Collection This link opens in a new window Features access to over 1600 full-text journals from Springer-Verlag and associated publishers. SpringerLink includes journals covering life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window Wiley Online Library is an extensive multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health, social and physical sciences, and humanities.

BIOL491/CHEM 491 & BIOL 391 - Biology Seminar: Science Databases

What is a database?

Journal Titles Search

General, Multidisciplinary Databases

Science Databases