Databases - EXSI 200 - Introduction to Exercise Science - LibGuides at Gardner-Webb University

What is a database?

What is a database?

The basic electronic information storage unit

A database is a collection of information organized to provide efficient retrieval. The collected information could be in any number of formats (electronic, printed, graphic, audio, statistical, combinations). There are physical (paper/print) and electronic databases.

A database could be as simple as an alphabetical arrangement of names in an address book or as complex as a database that provides information in a combination of formats.

Examples:

phone book
address book
Census Bureau data From: http://www.usg.edu/galileo/skills/unit04/primer04_01.phtml

Databases for Exercise Science

Academic Search Complete ~[392]~ Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
APA PsycInfo ~[392]~ The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Bates' Physical Examination Videos ~[392]~
Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course as well as the Objective Structured Clinical Examinations, or OSCEs. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
Business Source Complete ~[392]~ Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
CINAHL Complete ~[392]~ CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index – with no embargo. CINAHL Complete is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) ~[392]~ This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition ~[392]~ Provides more than 550 full text journals (446 of them peer-reviewed) focusing on many medical disciplines, and provides abstracts and indexing for over 826 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong.
PubMed ~[392]~ A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Sage Premier ~[392]~ Contains 570+ full-text, peer reviewed journals in the social sciences, humanities, and life sciences.
ScienceDirect College Edition ~[392]~ ScienceDirect College Edition contains ScienceDirect's Health & Life Sciences Journals and Ebooks Collections, Physical Sciences Journals Collection, and Social and Behavioural Sciences Journal Collection.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text ~[392]~ SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1930, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.
Thieme Teaching Assistant: Anatomy ~[392]~ Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is now MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy. The MedOne Thieme Teaching Assistant Anatomy is a presentation tool featuring 2000+ full-color illustrations and clinical images from Gilroy et al.'s Atlas of Anatomy and additional images from Baker et al.'s Head and Neck Anatomy in one cutting-edge platform.
UpToDate ~[392]~ More than 1.7 million clinicians in 190+ countries rely on UpToDate® to make the best care decisions and stay abreast of contemporary standards in the workflow and on-the-go. More than 6,900 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations.
Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas ~[392]~ A comprehensive 3D atlas of the human body

EXSI 200 - Introduction to Exercise Science: Databases

What is a database?

Databases for Exercise Science