The National Council of State Boards of Nursing offers the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX). It is a standardized exam that determines whether a candidate is prepared for entry-level nursing practice. It is taken once the student has completed an accredited nursing degree program.
Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment
The only NCLEX review book on the market with a focus on prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment -- just like the current NCLEX Examination itself! Using a unique simple-to-complex approach, Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment: Practice Exercises for the NCLEX#65533; Examination, 3rd Editionestablishes your foundational knowledge in management of care, then provides exercises of increasing difficulty to help you build confidence in your prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills. "..certainly a great resource for use in any healthcare setting." Reviewed by Anne Duell on behalf of Nursing Times, September 2015 UNIQUE! Emphasis on the NCLEX Examination''s management-of-care focus addresses the heavy emphasis on prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment in the current NCLEX Examination (17-23% of the 2013 NCLEX-RN Exam). UNIQUE! Three-part organization establishes foundational knowledge and then provides exercises of increasing difficulty to help you build confidence in your prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills. Answer key at the back of the book offers a detailed rationale and an indication of the focus of the question to encourage formative assessment. Introduction chapter by delegation expert Ruth Hansten provides guidelines for prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment decisions as well as a concise, practical foundation on which Parts 2 and 3 build. Part 2: Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment in Common Health Scenarios give you practice in applying the principles from Part 1 with straightforward NCLEX-style multiple-choice, multiple-select, ordering, and short-answer questions to help you develop and build confidence in prioritization, delegation, and patient assignment skills while working within the confines of relatively simple health scenarios. Part 3: Prioritization, Delegation, and Assignment in Complex Health Scenarios utilizes unfolding cases that build on the skills learned in Part 2 to equip you to make sound decisions in realistic, complex health scenarios involving complicated health problems and/or challenging patient assignment decisions and help you learn to "think like nurses" by developing what Benner (2010) calls "clinical imagination." NEW! Fully interactive question functionality features optional online answer submission with automated scoring. NEW! The all-important QSEN initiative is addressed by: Introducing the QSEN initiative and QSEN competencies in Part I Including a new chapter focused primarily on safety and other "nursing fundamentals" issues Identifying corresponding QSEN competencies and Concepts for each question in the Answer Key in the Evolve Instructor Resources NEW! Faculty-only Unfolding Cases and Suggested Uses resource on Evolve facilitate classroom discussion, development of clinical reasoning skills, and learner evaluation, as well as tips for teaching with the book throughout the nursing curriculum. NEW! Safety and Infection Control chapter features an increased number of questions specific to the QSEN safety competency. NEW! Separate Diabetes Mellitus and Other Endocrine Problems chapters give greater emphasis to diabetes as requested in feedback on the previous edition. NEW! Pediatric Problems and Psychiatric-Mental Health Problems chapters expand on content formerly integrated into body systems chapters to provide you with a more thorough understanding of these key clinical areas. NEW! NCLEX chart-format questions include six patient "charts" in Case Study 6 (Home Health) to reflect the NCLEX Exam''s chart-format questions. NEW! Design and navigation enhancements include page cross-references at the bottom of each page, quick-reference tabs on the answer key, and a new two- color design. NEW! Additional questions address the newborn, immunization, catheter-related infection, and ventilator-related infection.
Leadership and Management in Nursing Test Success
""This will be very helpful to students studying leadership and management for the NCLEX. The questions are pertinent and well written, and they cover a wide range of topics. This review is a worthwhile resource for student preparation."" Score: 96, 4 Stars. --Doody's Medical Reviews Based on an innovative, active learning paradigm, this course review for the Leadership and Management Nursing Skills NCLEX-RN features the use of unfolding case studies to thoroughly engage students while helping them to develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills. Unlike other content review books, this resource builds required content into compelling case scenarios that mimic situations in real-life practice. It features answers and rationales at the end of each chapter and includes 200 questions comprised of 150 multiple choice and 50 alternative NCLEX-RN style questions. The book is also infused with Web links and resources that will keep students engaged and further reinforce realistic decision-making. The review focuses on developing leadership and management competencies, patient care management including advanced directives, ethical and legal issues, organizational management, and delegating responsibilities to other members of the health care team. Students love this innovative approach to learning how to 'think like a nurse' Faculty find the case studies useful for clinical make-up assignments. Available in both print and eBook formats, the review is enhanced by the inclusion of URLs linking to resources that expands scope of content and increases content assimilation. Key Features: Promotes active learning through use of unfolding case studies Eschews traditional repetitive question review for an intensified learning experience Provides answers conveniently located at the end of each chapter and rationales for both correct AND incorrect answers Serves as a handy resource for clinical make-up assignments Includes more than 200 questions including 150 multiple choice and 50 alternative NCLEX questions
Nursing: The Ultimate Study Guide
Lippincott's Q and A Review for NCLEX-RN
Lippincott Q&A For NCLEX-RN is the leading Q&A book for the NCLEX-RN exam.nbsp; The new edition contains 6,000 NCLEX questions (more than any other NCLEX book) with answers and rationales for correct and incorrect answers - the perfect tool to help students study and prepare. The questions are of the highest quality--application level and higher.nbsp; This book contains all of the latest alternate format questions and is the only book updated to the latest NCLEX test plan. Study strategies are included with an emphasis on helping at-risk students.nbsp; In addition, there is a CD-ROM containing questions that allow students to practice test-taking skills in both a study and review mode, as well as student and instructor resources on the Point. There is the option to package this title with Lippincott's NCLEX-RN 10,000 Powered by PrepU, a powerful adaptive learning system geared to help students prepare for the NCLEX. These 2 products together offer students the perfect practice for the NCLEX-RN exam.nbsp;
Pearson Reviews and Rationales
The BEST-SELLING Pearson Reviews & Rationales: Comprehensive Review for NCLEX-RN#65533; is back and in a brand NEW edition! Completely current reflecting the April 2010 NCLEX-RN(R) test plan, this review book features a comprehensive outline review, over 1800 practice questions and multiple practice tests. The second edition boasts over 200 new questions and includes ALL of the alternate question formats on the NCLEX exam. Throughout answers are complete with rationales and testing strategies to help determine how to answer questions, even when they aren't sure of the correct answer. How will this book help you succeed on the NCLEX? Because of these stand-out features: Highlights CRITICAL concepts on the NCLEX-RN with Memory Aid Boxes and NCLEX Alert The quantity and quality of our review questions Organization according to the April 2010 NCLEX-RN(R) Test Plan The multi-media support that accompanies this review book. Inclusion of alternate test items such as prioritization, dosage calculation, enhanced image questions Rationales and testing strategies for a for all answers Nearly all questions are a high level of difficulty, i.e. analysis and application Test Your NCLEX(R) I.Q. assessment boxes Review tips for ESL students Section for foreign nurses to help prepare them for the NCLEX-RN(R) Need online preparation? For those who want to prepare for the NCLEX-RN(R), taking multiple practice tests online will help you become more familiar with the computer-based testing experience, especially for the new alternate item formats such as audio, media-enhanced, hot spot, and exhibit questions. With this new edition, use the code printed inside the front cover of the book to access more than 5,600 practice questions using all NCLEX(R)-style formats. This includes the practice questions found in all chapters of the book as well as the comprehensive exam questions. Plus, it contains 4,000 NEW question to help you further evaluate your readiness for the exam and hone your test-taking skills. This allows you to choose two ways to prepare for the NCLEX-RN(R). Both approaches personalize your practice experience according to what stage you are at in your NCLEX(R) preparation: Comprehensive Practice & Review provides you with a 100-question comprehensive exam that allows you to practice pacing yourself to build your stamina so that you can endure answering questions for a long period of time. Following this exam, you receive a results report and a personalized study plan and links to the eText to help you focus your review with additional opportunities to test yourself. Nursing Topics Review allows you to select which specific nursing topic areas you would like to review and test yourself. After a brief pre-test, you receive a personalized study plan referring you to the eText for areas where you need additional review. Anyone preparing for the NCLEX-RN (R)
Medical-Surgical Nursing Test Success
This is a unique case study reference for students in the medical surgical nursing core course and a review/workbook for students about to embark on the NCLEX-RN exam. Unlike other reviews, the book embeds required information into compelling, unfolding case studiesostudies that evolve over timeoin order to promote active learning and facilitate knowledge retention. These unfolding case studies are of particular value because they closely mimic real-life situations in nursing and provide situational mental models that assist students with problem-solving and critical thinking techniques. The unfolding case study method also assists in the development of skills that are important for NCLEX-RN success in assessment, planning, intervention, and evaluation of patient care. All content areas required for NCLEX-RN successosafe and effective care, health promotion, physiological and psychological integrity--are interwoven in an enjoyable format that dispels the drudgery of straightforward memorization. A variety of NCLEX-style question formats are used throughout the book to help students assess their own learning. Additionally, "eResource" links to additional information are included throughout the book. Key Features: Uses unique unfolding case study method to present medical-surgical conceptsPromotes active learning and knowledge retentionDevelops problem-solving and critical thinking skillsProvides all of types of NCLEX-style questions for exam preparationOffers "eResources" throughout the Review for enhanced learning opportunities"