Encyclopedia of research design by
Comprising more than 500 entries, the Encyclopedia of Research Design explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results.
Research Design by
This best-selling text pioneered the comparison of qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods research design. For all three approaches, John W. Creswell and new co-author J. David Creswell include a preliminary consideration of philosophical assumptions, key elements of the research process, a review of the literature, an assessment of the use of theory in research applications, and reflections about the importance of writing and ethics in scholarly inquiry. The Fifth Edition includes more coverage of: epistemological and ontological positioning in relation to the research question and chosen methodology; case study, PAR, visual and online methods in qualitative research; qualitative and quantitative data analysis software; and in quantitative methods more on power analysis to determine sample size, and more coverage of experimental and survey designs; and updated with the latest thinking and research in mixed methods. SHARE this Comparison of Research Approaches poster with your students to help them navigate the distinction between the three approaches to research.
The Research Imagination by
The idea that science is a blueprint for research, and imagination gives research its life and purpose inspired this comprehensive explanation of research methodology. The authors' decades of experience have revealed that research is a craft requiring judgment and creativity, not simply memorization and application of the rules of science. Whether one is conducting an intimate one-on-one interview or a large-scale examination of an entire society, human imagination and scientific principles of inquiry go hand in hand. To that end, this book emphasizes scientific method, but also acknowledges its critics. It covers a wide variety of data-collection techniques, but presents them as reinforcing rather than competing with one another, thus striking a balance between qualitative and quantitative methods. It is designed for students and instructors who want a comprehensive treatment of a variety of research techniques with special emphasis on qualitative approaches.
Educational Research by
The only introduction to offer balanced, inclusive, integrated treatment of educational research, this text comprehensively addresses both quantitative and qualitative approaches, with the goal of starting students on the path to doing their own research as well as evaluating the research of others. After an overview of the nature of educational research and specific qualitative and quantitative approaches to it, eight chapters explore specific steps in the process, from identifying a problem, through determining a purpose and working with data, to reporting one's findings.
Qualitative Research - "is an approach to research that is primarily concerned with studying the nature, quality, and meaning of human experience. It asks questions about how people make sense of their experiences, how people talk about what has happened to them and others, and how people experience, manage, and negotiate situations they find themselves in" (Willig, 2016).
Quantitative Research - "involves the gathering of numerical data which are often subjected to statistical analysis. Qualitative research aims to be objective in its methods, application, and analysis, and also more reliable (in that it is easier to repeat these studies and obtain similar results) than using qualitative research methods" (Crawford, 2009).
Mixed Methods Research - "is an approach to a research problem that leverages the advantages of both qualitative and quantitative research methods to better understand the subject than any individual approach could offer on its own. It recognizes that qualitative and quantitative data can each contribute to different aspects of understanding a problem, and it integrates both approaches within a holistic methodological approach" (Harper, 2013).
This chart compares qualitative and quantitative research, and will show you how to recognize both types of research.
| Qualitative Research | Quantitative Research |
|---|---|
| Understanding and interpreting social interactions and behavior |
Testing theories, describing with statistics, and making predictions |
| Specially chosen small groups |
Randomly selected large groups |
| Words |
Numbers |
| Subjective |
Objective |
| Observations and interviews |
Experiments and surveys |
| Open-ended questions |
Controlled responses |
| Narrative report |
Statistical results |
Qualitative vs. Quantitative Research. (2018). Retrieved from https://guides.erau.edu/qualitative-quantitative
Crawford, G. (2009). Quantitative research. In S. H. Callahan, The SAGE dictionary of leisure studies. London, UK: Sage UK. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.gardner-webb.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sageukdicles/quantitative_research/0?institutionId=5562
Creswell, J. W. (1998). Qualitative inquiry and research design: Choosing among five traditions. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publishing.
Harper, G. M. (2013). Mixed methods research. Salem press encyclopedia. Retrieved from Bulldog OneSearch.
Qualitative vs. Quantitative Research. (2018). Retrieved from https://guides.erau.edu/qualitative-quantitative
Willig, C. (2016). Qualitative research. In L. H. Miller (Ed.), The Sage encyclopedia of theory in psychology. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications. Retrieved from http://ezproxy.gardner-webb.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/topic/qualitative_research?institutionId=5562
