Catalog & Databases - CEDU 601 - Counseling Theories & Techniques I *

Evidence-Based Practice

National Center on Improving Literacy (2018). What do we mean by evidence-based?. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Education, Office of Elementary and Secondary Education, Office of Special Education Programs, National Center on Improving Literacy. Retrieved from http://improvingliteracy.org.

Psychology/Counseling databases

APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window APA PsycArticles®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The APA PsycInfo® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window Child Development & Adolescent Studies™ is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development, plus new coverage on child rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed in this database. More than 342,000 records are included, with over 10,000 new records added each year.
Counseling & Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window Provides an invaluable firsthand look at the realities of working with clients and the challenges associated with putting theoretical concepts into practice. Delivers content aligned with the CACREP eight common core areas, and introduces the DSM‑5® and ICD-10, addressing topics such as psychopharmacology, neuroscience, LGBTQ, and research methods for courses in counseling, social work, or psychology
Education Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Research on primary, secondary, and higher education. Includes special education, home schooling, and adult learning. Academic journal articles, dissertations, and trade journals.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC contains more than 1,282,000 records and links to more than 314,000 full text documents from ERIC.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window Family & Society Studies Worldwide™ (FSSW) is a core resource providing the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. FSSW covers popular issues and meets the requirements of professionals in all fields of social work, social science and family practice. Coverage spans from 1970 to the present, indexing publications from a wide range of social science disciplines.
Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.
Learning Express Library Complete and PrepSTEP Academic This link opens in a new window Practice tests, interactive tutorials, and ebooks for students adult learners. Includes practices tests such as GED, GRE, SAT, TEAS, and supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass a high school equivalency test, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Humanities and Social Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Index to 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, including full-text (PDF) of most since 1997.
Psychology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Many titles are indexed in PsycINFO. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.
Psychotherapy.net Collection This link opens in a new window Psychotherapy.net offers a collection of some 200 streamed psychotherapy training videos covering a wide range of modalities, theoretical approaches, and populations.
PTSDpubs This link opens in a new window This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Sociology Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Springer Journals Collection This link opens in a new window Features access to over 1600 full-text journals from Springer-Verlag and associated publishers. SpringerLink includes journals covering life sciences, chemical sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering, environmental sciences, law, and economics.
Symptom Media This link opens in a new window Symptom Media is an online mental health education and training film library available via subscription. Symptom Media’s library of over 500 mental health simulations include Assessment Tools, DSM 5 and ICD Guided Films. Symptom Media’s films provide viewers with visual guideposts to better understand mental health diagnoses and decrease the stigma for those facing psychological issues.

Digital Commons @ Gardner-Webb University

Click here to go to Digital Commons @ Gardner-Webb University, the repository for student, faculty, and staff research. The Journal of Counseling and Psychology can be found as an open access journal in Digital Commons.

Click on the picture below to be taken directly to the Journal of Counseling and Psychology in Digital Commons @ Gardner-Webb University.

CEDU 601 - Counseling Theories & Techniques I *: Catalog & Databases

Evidence-Based Practice

Psychology/Counseling databases

Digital Commons @ Gardner-Webb University