Skip to Main Content
History databases
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1 (1684-1820) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection contains more than 500 titles dating from 1684 through 1820.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 2 (1821-1837) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1821 to 1837 represents the Jacksonian Democracy era in history and is broad in scope including agriculture, entertainment, history, literary criticism, and politics.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 3 (1838-1852) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection covers the period from 1838-1852.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 4 (1853-1865) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1853 to 1865 focuses on the Civil War and a diverse record of the continuance of daily life for many Americans—both leading up to and during the war.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 5 (1866-1912) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO partners with American Antiquarian Society (AAS), the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
This collection of periodicals from 1866 to 1912 reflects a nation that persevered through a difficult set of circumstances and provides overage of broad subject areas that reach into every facet of American life.
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
ArchiveGrid includes over 5 million records describing archival materials, bringing together information about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and more. With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
DigitalNC This link opens in a new window
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) provides access to millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Find primary sources to use in school projects, academic research, family history research, and more.
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina This link opens in a new window
Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) for North Carolina delivers detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life in 158 North Carolina towns and cities across a century of change.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others. Full text of state and federal case law powered by Fastcase is included.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines. This collection includes all titles in the Language & Literature Collection, student-run law reviews and titles across arts and sciences; humanities; social sciences; language, visual, and performing arts; Eastern and Western religion; music; business; finance; and health science.
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and govenmnet, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies. Military & Government Collection includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 500 titles providing cover to cover full text for nearly 400. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Military Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Military Collection provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more. For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Newspapers.com -- North Carolina Collection This link opens in a new window
Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women.
Political Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database gives users access to hundreds of leading political science and international relations journals, providing full-text of many core titles indexed in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. In addition, over a thousand recent full-text doctoral dissertations on political science topics are included, together with working papers, conference proceedings, country profiles, political news and other sources.
SIRS Issues Researcher This link opens in a new window
Research the pros and cons of current issues and enduring social issues through full-text articles, multimedia, primary sources, government documents and reference materials.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Also included are 50 current publications from the University of North Carolina (UNC) Press, as well as more than 1,000 books, pamphlets, and periodicals on the subject of slavery.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Online Databases by Title
