Skip to Main Content
Religion databases
Atla Historical Monographs Collection -- Series 1 This link opens in a new window
The Atla Historical Monographs Collection -- Series 1 presents more than 15,000 titles from 13th Century through the 1893 World Parliament of Religions. The historical time period of the collection reflects upon a time of great doctrinal, social, and organizational change. Since religion was such an integral part of the social, political and economic fabric of life during the time period of this collection, historians researching a wide range of areas will find invaluable material relevant to their work. The collection covers a wide range of material with unparalleled depth and breadth. It includes many volumes documenting the recovery of languages used during the biblical era and provides an in-depth view of the way that interest in, and knowledge of, biblical languages emerged during the nineteenth century, an important foundation for today’s study and understanding of biblical languages. It also contains titles in Aramaic, Arabic, Greek, Hebrew and Syriac.
Atla Historical Monographs Collection -- Series 2 This link opens in a new window
The Atla Historical Monographs Collection -- Series 2 consists of nearly 15,000 titles published from 1894 through 1923. It presents a comprehensive picture of religion in America at the turn of the century. Subjects addressed include the conflict between religion and science, the growing interest in Eastern religions and other world religions, and significant shifts in the religious identification of Americans.
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials This link opens in a new window
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with Atla's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The Atla Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (651 currently indexed), more than 260,000 essay citations from over 15,400 multi-author works, more than 423,000 book review citations, and a growing number of multimedia citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. Links are provided to over 140,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than seventy journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States.
Atlas for Alum This link opens in a new window
If you would like access contact Daniel Jolley for more information.
Provided through a grant by Atla. Divinity School Alumni can now access AtlaSerials, an online collection of more than one hundred thirty major religion and theology journals selected by leading religion scholars and theologians. Through the Atlas database, alumni can research the history of a topic from as early as 1924 to the present through more than 238,000 articles and book reviews combined. Currently, researches are able to use Atlas as a search tool to retrieve PDFs of the pages in more than one hundred and forty different journals, with fully searchable text that allows for keyword proximity and citation set searches. Atlas for Alum is accessible by Divinity School alumni only.
Classic Sermon Index This link opens in a new window
Features 53,000+ historic sermons indexed by primary Biblical text for simple searching. Searchable by date as far back as the second century. Nearly 75% hyperlinked to the full-text sermon.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Foundational content in the Humanities and Social Sciences with nearly 700 core titles across 45 disciplines. This collection includes all titles in the Language & Literature Collection, student-run law reviews and titles across arts and sciences; humanities; social sciences; language, visual, and performing arts; Eastern and Western religion; music; business; finance; and health science.
Religion Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
Research in Ministry This link opens in a new window
Research in Ministry is a thesis and dissertation abstract database where users can search for and share the outcomes of research conducted in programs of study related to ministry, theology and religion.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Online Databases by Title
